Cricket: Virat Kohli steps down as India Test captain | Cricket News

Kohli led the team for 68 matches and won 40 of them, making him India’s most successful Test captain.

Virat Kohli stepped down as captain of the India Test Team after seven years in the position.

Kohli led the team for 68 matches and won 40 of them, making him India’s most successful Test captain.

He announced the decision on Saturday after India lost a Test series in South Africa 1-2.

“Everything has to come to a standstill at some point and for me as Test captain of India it is now … I have always believed in giving my 120 percent in everything I do, and if I can not do that, I know it is not the right thing to do, “Kohli said in a Twitter post. “I have absolute clarity in my heart and I can not be dishonest against my team.”

The Indian Cricket Board, BCCI, thanked Kohli for his “admirable leadership qualities that brought the test team to extraordinary heights”.

Kohli, 33, resigned as the Twenty20 captain in September and was replaced in December as One-Day International (ODI) skipper, with opener Rohit Sharma taking over in both formats.

One of the major highlights of his captaincy included India’s first victory over Australia in the test series in 2018-19, leading the country to the final of the first World Test Championship in England last year – where they lost to New -Zeeland.

The announcement comes shortly after India became embroiled in a field controversy over a reversal decision during the third Test defeat against South Africa

Kohli and two teammates were caught on the stump microphone complaining after home captain Dean Elgar survived on assessment after she was kicked before wicket on a crucial stage on the third afternoon.

There has been no indication yet from match referee Andy Pycroft and the International Cricket Council whether disciplinary action will be taken against Kohli, KL Rahul and R Ashwin for their role in the incident.

Kohli is part of the ODI team, led by Rahul in the absence of the injured Sharma, who will play three matches in South Africa on January 19.


Leave a Comment