Historic five day Test match between Australia and England

Australia’s women’s cricket team will make history when it plays a five-day Test match against England during next year’s Ashes series.

Cricket Australia and the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) unveiled the schedules for both the women’s and the men’s Ashes, which will be held in the motherland mid-2023.

The women’s Ashes features a five-day Test. Women have historically played four-day matches.

READ MORE: Lions coach takes ‘leave of absence’ after explosive report

READ MORE: Clarkson ‘shocked’ by explosive Hawks allegations

READ MORE: Aussie’s ‘disgusting’ act slammed by boxing rival

But all six women’s Tests played since 2015 have ended in a draw, and calls have been growing louder for some time to allow five-day matches.

“In terms of the length, I think it makes sense to take it out to five days … you’ll get a lot more results,” Aussie captain Meg Lanning said on the subject last year.

The men’s Ashes will consist of the traditional five Test matches, and begins on June 16 at Edgbaston.

Lord’s, Headingly, Old Trafford, and The Oval will host the remaining men’s matches.



Jun 22-26: Test match | Trent Bridge, Nottingham

Jul 1: First T20I | Edgbaston, Birmingham

Jul 5: Second T20I | The Oval, London

Jul 8: Third T20I | Lord’s, London

Jul 12: First ODI | County Ground, Bristol

Jul 16: Second ODI | The Ageas Bowl, Southampton

Jul 18: Third ODI | County Ground, Taunton


Jun 16 – Jun 20: First Test | Edgbaston, Birmingham

Jun 28 – Jul 2: Second Test | Lord’s, London

Jul 6 – Jul 10: Third Test | Headingly, Leeds

Jul 19 – Jul 23: Fourth Test | Old Trafford, Manchester

Jul 27 – Jul 31: Fifth Test | The Oval, London

For a daily dose of the best of the breaking news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.