How to kick people off your Wi-Fi network

Unplug an Ethernet cable from a Wi-Fi router
Proxima Studio / Shutterstock

Once you have given someone your Wi-Fi password, they have unlimited access to your Wi-Fi and they can join your network on all their devices. That’s how it works, at least. How to start them up.

Option 1: Change your Wi-Fi password

The easiest and most secure method is to simply change the password of your Wi-Fi network on your router. This will forcibly disconnect all devices from your Wi-Fi network – including your own. You will need to reconnect to the Wi-Fi network by entering the new password on all your devices. Anyone who does not have your new password will not be able to connect.

Let’s be honest: If you have many devices, it will be cumbersome to reconnect them all. But it is also the only real, foolproof method. Even if you are able to blacklist a device on your router so that it cannot reconnect, someone with your Wi-Fi password can connect to a new device. (And even though they may not remember the password, there are ways to recover stored Wi-Fi passwords on Windows PCs and other devices.)

To do this, you need to access your router’s configuration settings – usually in a web interface – log in and change the Wi-Fi password. You can also change the name of the Wi-Fi network while you are on the go. We have a guide to accessing your router’s web interface, and you can also perform a web search by your router’s name and model number to find the manufacturer’s manual and official instructions. Look for a “Wireless” or “Wi-Fi” section in your router’s options.

All this requires that you have set a password on your router! Be sure to enable secure encryption (WPA2) and set a strong passphrase. If you host an open Wi-Fi network, everyone will be able to connect.

RELATED: To change the name and password of your Wi-Fi network

Changing the Wi-Fi password on an Asus router

Option 2: Use MAC address filtering on your router

Some routers have access control features that can control which devices are allowed to connect. Each wireless device has a unique MAC address. Some routers allow you to blacklist (ban) devices with a specific MAC address from connecting. Some routers let you set up a whitelist of approved devices and prevent other devices from connecting in the future.

Not all routers even have this option. Although you can use it, it is not completely safe. Someone with your Wi-Fi access password could change their device’s MAC address to match an authorized one and take its place on your Wi-Fi network. Even if no one does, you will have to manually enter MAC addresses when connecting new devices, otherwise a hacker will just be able to connect at any time – it does not work ideally.

For all these reasons, we do not recommend using MAC address filtering.

But if you just want to temporarily kick a device out temporarily – maybe your kids’ device – and you’re not worried about them getting around the block, this might be a good method.

You’ll have to dig into your WI-Fi router’s settings to see if it supports anything like this at all. For example, on some Netgear routers, this is named “wireless card access list.” On other Netgear routers like Nighthawk, the access control feature just controls access to the Internet – blocked devices can still connect to Wi-Fi but are denied Internet access. Google Wifi routers allow you to “pause” Internet access to devices, but this will not turn them off from your Wi-Fi.

RELATED: Why you should not use MAC address filtering on your Wi-Fi router

Option 3: Use a guest network in the first place

Giving a guest access to your Wi-Fi network can make this process much easier for yourself by setting up a guest Wi-Fi network on your router. The guest network is a separate access network. For example, you can have a network “Home Base” and another called “Home Base – Guest.” You will never give your guests access to your main network.

Many routers offer this feature and call it a “guest network” or “guest access” in their settings. Your guest network may have a completely separate password. If you ever need to change it, you can just change the guest’s password without changing your primary network password and kick your own devices off.

Guest networks can often also be “isolated” from your main network. Your guest’s devices will not have access to file sharing on your computers or other networked resources if you enable “isolation” or disable “allow guests access to local network resources”, or whatever the setting is now called.

Once again, you will need to dig into your router’s settings to see if it has a “guest network” feature. However, guest networks are much more common than access control lists.

RELATED: To enable a guest access point on your wireless network

Guest network capability on an Asus router

If you can access the device that connects to Wi-Fi

In the unlikely event that you have access to someone else’s device and they have not entered a password or can not stop you, you can remove the saved password. For example, you can ask an iPhone to forget the network or delete the stored Wi-Fi network profile on Windows.

Assuming you have access to the person’s device and they did not remember or write down your Wi-Fi password, this will solve your problem. They can not reconnect to that device unless they re-enter the password. Of course, they could see it on all other devices they have access to where the password is stored.

Forget a stored Wi-Fi network on Windows 10

How about software that kicks people away from your Wi-Fi?

Search the web for this topic and you will discover people who recommend software like Netcut or JamWifi that can send packets to other devices on your Wi-Fi network and ask them to disconnect.

These software tools basically perform a Wi-Fi authentication attack to temporarily launch a device from your Wi-Fi network

This is not a real solution. Even after you authorize a device, it will still try to connect. This is why some tools may continuously send “deauth” packets if you leave your computer on.

This is not a real way to permanently remove someone from your network and force them to stay disconnected.

Leave a Comment