How to send lost messages in Facebook Messenger

charnsitr / Shutterstock.com

Confidentiality is an important thing to consider when putting all your conversations in one messaging app. With Facebook Messenger’s “Vanish Mode”, you can make sensitive messages disappear after the recipient reads them. It’s a good privacy trick.

“Vanish Mode” is also available on Instagram, and it works exactly the same as Facebook Messenger. The idea is that you start Vanish Mode, say what you want to say, and then leave Vanish Mode. After your messages are seen, they disappear.

RELATED: How to send missing messages in Instagram

To get started, open a conversation with someone you are friends with. You also need the mobile app for iPhone, iPad or Android to use Vanish Mode.

Open a conversation.

Then swipe up over the text field in the conversation view. You will see a small indicator to help you get into Vanish Mode.

Swipe up to open Vanish Mode.

In Vanish Mode, the background is dark. You can now have a conversation as you normally would.

Vanish Mode enabled.

If the other person takes a screenshot while in Vanish Mode, you will be notified.

When you are ready for everything to disappear, simply press “Turn off disappearing mode”. You can also do swipe-up gesture again.

"Turn off Vanish Mode."

That’s all there is to it. Think of it as walking into a soundproof room to have a secret conversation. You can go into Vanish Mode for a while and then go when you are done. There are other ways to make sure your Messenger conversations are secure.

RELATED: Messenger gets end-to-end encryption for voice and video chats

Leave a Comment